Dylan Thomas Boathouse
Even if the poet, writer and broadcaster Dylan Thomas (1914-1953) hadn’t lived at the Boathouse in Laugharne for the last four years of his tragically short life, it is a truly remarkable place to visit.
The Boathouse terrace offers wonderful views of the Taf estuary and the Gower beyond – a haven for egrets, lapwings, herons, oystercatchers, seals and otters with fishermen and cocklers continuing the ancient traditions.
The Boathouse tearoom with its locally sourced, home-cooked menu provides a welcome respite for walkers tackling the newly launched Wales Coast Path.
As well as the tearoom, there is a furnished front parlour, an upstairs exhibition area showing a 24 minute film, a shop and toilet facilities.
It was Dylan Thomas, however, who made the Boathouse iconic. It is the building most closely associated with him and the stability of a permanent home meant he enjoyed a creative renaissance. He worked in the Writing Shed above the Boathouse with its remarkable and inspiring views of four estuaries.
The first poem he wrote there was ‘Over Sir John’s Hill’, in which he describes the view from the shed, writing of birds stalking their prey and bringing death in the midst of this beauty.
Life, death, beauty, tragedy, eternity and God – Dylan could see them all from the window of this unique place.
SUMMER OPENING HOURS
We are open seven days a week.
Our daily hours are 10.00am-5.00pm.
From the 1st of October, we will be open from 10:30am – 3:00pm.
- Adult - £4.20
- Concession - £3.20
- Child 7-16 - £2.00
- Under 7s - Free
- Tea room only - Free
- Family (2 adults and two children) - £10.00
- Groups 5+ - 10% discount
Dogs can be taken into the garden and onto the terrace, but must be kept on a lead at all times. Guide dogs are allowed in the house.
The Boathouse is a 10 minute walk from the centre of Laugharne along Dylan’s Walk, passing the Writing Shed which can be viewed from the pathway.
There is no vehicular access or parking facilities at the Boathouse.
The Dylan Thomas Boathouse is managed by Carmarthenshire County Council.